The British Ports Association (BPA) has confirmed that its Introduction to UK Ports one‑day course will run on four separate dates, adding a new session in Edinburgh at the Northern Lighthouse Board office. The course fee is set at £495 per participant plus VAT, and BPA members and associate members receive a 10% discount.

New Edinburgh venue and full schedule

According to the BPA’s own announcement, the course will be delivered at two locations:

  • The BPA office in central London
  • The Northern Lighthouse Board office in Edinburgh, Scotland

The published timetable lists the following dates:

Introduction to UK Ports – session dates and locations
DateLocation
23 July 2026Central London (BPA office)
24 September 2026Central London (BPA office)
12 November 2026Central London (BPA office)
17 November 2026Edinburgh (Northern Lighthouse Board office)
Source: British Ports Association – New Dates for Introduction to UK Ports Course (including date in Scotland)

The Edinburgh session marks the first time the BPA has offered the course outside of London, expanding access for participants based in Scotland and the wider northern region.

Course fee, discount and limited places

The announcement states that the price is £495 per person, plus VAT. BPA members and associate members are entitled to a 10% discount on that fee. The discount therefore reduces the net cost for eligible participants to £445.50 before VAT.

Both the fee and the discount are presented as per‑participant figures; the BPA does not publish a total revenue estimate because the number of places per session is limited and not disclosed.

Target audience and partnership

The BPA describes the course as aimed at "government officials, suppliers, and anyone wishing to learn more about UK ports". It is delivered in partnership with Port Centric Logistics Partners (PCLP), a specialist consultancy with expertise in port operations, planning, international trade and logistics. The partnership is intended to ensure that the curriculum is tailored to participants with low base knowledge of the sector.

Because the course is a one‑day, introductory format, it focuses on fundamentals such as ownership models, infrastructure, recent industry developments and future trends. The BPA notes that the limited number of places per session is designed to keep the learning environment interactive.

Why the new date matters for UK ports professionals

For professionals working in or with the UK ports sector, the added Edinburgh session reduces travel time and cost for those based in Scotland or the north of England. It also signals the BPA’s intention to broaden its educational outreach beyond the capital, potentially supporting regional port initiatives that have been highlighted in recent government transport strategies.

While the BPA has not quantified the expected uptake, the inclusion of a Scottish venue may encourage participation from public‑sector staff in the Scottish Government, local authorities and logistics firms that operate across the UK‑Scotland border.

What remains unknown

The BPA announcement does not disclose the exact number of places available for each date, nor does it provide a breakdown of how many of those places are reserved for members versus non‑members. The organisation also has not revealed whether any early‑bird or group discounts will be offered in addition to the standard 10% member discount.

Finally, the BPA’s chief executive and head office location are not listed in the announcement. Wikidata records the association’s founding date as 1 January 1992 and its country as the United Kingdom, but the packet flags those details as background only and advises verification before publication.

Stakeholders interested in the course should monitor the BPA website for updates on registration deadlines and any further sessions that may be added later in 2026.